Still Not Digging Mondays

I don’t know if it’s just because she was off for a week, or if its just the Monday blues, but it has not been fun trying to get my daughter to do school work today.

Math is one of her favorite subjects, and yet it’s taken us four hours to do four work sheets…and she still hasn’t even completed the third one.

I ended up just having to put up the workbook and tell her to just stop.  The fact that she needs help with “9+7” really irritates me, and it seems like no matter how many times I tell her to use her fingers or draw a picture, or whatever else she wants to do to solve it, she won’t. She’d rather just stare at the page than attempt to finish her schoolwork.

She even went and hid in the bathroom closet because she “wanted to be away from me.”

I’m stressed out, I don’t know what to do anymore.

It’s like this every day, no matter what subject we’re working on.

Is it me? Am I just not good at teaching her? My brother doesn’t have these problems when she’s with him, so why is it that when she’s home, she won’t do her work without a day-long fight?

I’m stressed out, and I’m ready to give up, but I hate the schools here, and I refuse to put her back in one, but I don’t know what else to try.

Any advice?

3 thoughts on “Still Not Digging Mondays

Add yours

  1. It sounds like she doesn’t understand the difference between home and school. Try separating them more by keeping to a strict school schedule. Then give her more control over her free time.

    Like

    1. I was trying that at first, but with my line of work, it’s not always easy. I need flexibility in my own schedule, let alone hers. For example, I’m leaving at 8am tomorrow morning to go work in Orlando, two hours away from me, which means my brother will be the one tending to her schoolwork.

      Like

      1. So she has a substitute teacher. That’s fine. But, you can still have structure. School starts at 9am (or whatever) regardless of who is teaching that day. You two will have to work together to decide what structure she needs– her schedule is as important as yours.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

