The Struggle Has Gotten Real

So when we first began this adventure in January I searched and searched and searched trying to find programs and curriculums to use to homeschool my daughter.

I was homeschooled myself for a short period of time and absolutely loved it, and I was excited to homeschool Ella.

I would’ve from the very beginning, except that I was employed at the time and didn’t have the time to do so.  So now, it’s second grade, and I’m unemployed. The fact that we were having issues with her teachers and office administration was just the final nail in the coffin that caused me to pull her out.

Let me remind you, I’m unemployed, and while we are living with my dad while I’m in school myself, this also means I have minimal income, so I had to find things to use on the cheap.

I found plenty of websites offering free worksheets and lesson plans, but there was no structure to any of it.  I needed an actual program, or text books I couldn’t afford.  And let’s face it, most homeschooling programs aren’t free.

I had plenty of people who also homeschool saying you should use “Florida Virtual School, it’s free;” as well as another person telling me, “I use time4learning, my sons love it!”

That was great in theory. Except that FLVS has a ridiculous enrollment process, and from what I understand, it’s not as flexible as they lead you to believe, and I with the line of work I am involved in flexibility is a MUST! And while time4learning may be cheap (only $20 a student), it’s not something you can afford on $200 a month when you have a phone bill, car insurance, and everything else.

Then, through some miracle, I found mobymax.

It’s been great, up until now.  Our “trial period” came to an end, and the struggle began.  Don’t get me wrong, we still have access to all of the lessons, but my daughter can’t print the certificates or badges she’s earned for completing said lessons, nor does she have access to the games that she earns minutes for anymore. These things shouldn’t be a big deal, but they were a huge motivator for her, and I can’t afford the $99 for a premium account (or whatever it is referred to.)

Another big thing is that Ella has been saying she wants to use text books again. She doesn’t like using the computer, and misses having work books.  I didn’t mind this because when I was homeschooled, I also enjoyed having physical books to work out of rather than using the internet.

That being said, it’s impossible to find ACTUAL text books that don’t cost a buttload of money. I did snag some of the Spectrum work books from Books-A-Million last week, but they’re just not quite what I was looking for.

Unfortunately, making the switch hasn’t been easy.  Monday I worked a 13 hour gig as a production assistant for a commercial and Ella stayed with my brother. That’s usually not a big deal, I send stuff with her to do while I’m gone. Well, I forgot to pack her workbooks. Then when we got home at midnight, neither of us wanted to do schoolwork.  Then she slept all day Tuesday, and this whole week has turned into a mess.

She’s barely done anything at all.

As her parent-teacher, it’s my responsibility to make sure these things get done, but I’m just not happy with what we have, and that creates a lack of motivation when it comes to either of us getting stuff done.

I need a program with structure, where I don’t have to worry about coughing up bundles of money constantly. Whether it’s books or online, or even printables.

I feel so lost, and we’re starting to become buried under the burden of having no idea what we’re doing.

If anyone has any suggestions or ways that they’ve gotten through this problem, please, I’m begging you to share.

4 thoughts on “The Struggle Has Gotten Real

Add yours

  1. What grade level is your daughter doing? Depending on the level, there are a few options (plus homeschool buyins can get you things like Mobymax cheaper than their list price.) Education.com is great (10 free a month, lifetime price goes 50% off at times) and Mystery Science is free for a year. Depending on her grade level, Brainquest has a great set of workbooks. Teachers Pay Teachers (Etsy for teachers) has a lot to pick from and each seller must include free things in their stores. Just search by subject/grade level, then filter the price for free.

    Costco has some decent workbooks right now for a good price, and we’ve had great luck with used book stores in our area – lots of homeschooling options pop up now and again. You local library may offer curriculums – ours has educational tablets too – amazing that!

    If it comes down to needing a full curriculum-in-a-box, look into the Oak Meadow brand – they have facebook groups that sell the curriculum second hand for peanuts. If you have a 5 Below store in your area, they carry a set of decent workbooks for a good price. If you’re in an area with lots of homeschoolers, they generally have used curriculum sales coming up in the next few months.

    Good Luck!

    Like

    1. My daughter’s in 2nd grade. I didn’t know about Etsy! I’ll definitely look into that. I did find some worksheets on education.com that I’m going to be incorporating in the coming weeks. I’ll have to check out 5 Below. I’ve heard a lot about it, but I didn’t know they had workbooks and stuff like that. Thank you so much for all the tips!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I should clarify – TpT is not affiliated with Etsy. It’s similar to it. Forgot to add EasyPeasy is free too, but it’s not secular. Not sure how you feel about that 😊

        Like

      2. Okay, lol, regardless, I’ll definitely check it out! Whether or not something is secular doesn’t really bother me. My dad is a buddhist, and when he homeschooled me, he used Christian books because that was pretty much all that was available at the time. I’ve pretty much been raising Ella as Christian, but we our attendance at church has been rather lacking for a couple of years now.
        I did look at EasyPeasy before, but I just see myself getting lost. I’ll probably download the workbooks though, even if it’s just to use the worksheets at my own discretion rather than on their schedule.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

